Minerva


Really weird revelation. I’m grading research papers right now, and one particularly talks about Greek gods and goddesses. The student mentioned that Athena’s Roman name is Minerva. So, obviously, my mind goes to Harry Potter and Minerva McGonagall.

So, knowing how into mythology and names that J.K. Rowling is, I never connected the fact that Professor McGonagall’s name means wisdom–as she is the wisest character in the books after Dumbledore!

Anyway, just FYI.

P.S. This is only the first clue, but I really love Harry Potter. I’m not obsessed, just impressed. The epic series is rife with literary and mythological references, which really grabs my attention and adds depth to Rowling’s world–as well as adding to my respect for J.K. Rowling as an attentive author.

Leave a Reply

