“Diary of a Wimpy Kid” Movie


I’m looking forward to this, although I feel slightly wary of seeing another book adaptation after being so horribly betrayed by Chris “Percy Jackson Killer” Columbus.

This movie is based on the first of Greg Heffley’s journals by Jeff Kinney. Greg is basically like every 6th grader–completely selfish. He has few redeeming qualities, though he isn’t outright mean. He just looks out for himself. I can’t really justify it in my own head. Greg spends a lot of time trying to fathom him parents’ reasons for things, and to make money with the littlest effort possible. They’re very realistic, as I’m pretty sure Kinney is channeling “Sixth-grade-me” when he’s writing them.

I’d certainly say this is “inspired by” those books, as they don’t really have much of a plot (don’t get me wrong, I love them!), while this movie seems to have one. We’ll see about it though. I’ll read up on it as it gets closer to the release date.

DoaWK

Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney

One thought on ““Diary of a Wimpy Kid” Movie

  1. I know that you have suggested I read this books, but I’m just not feeling it. Which may mean that in sixth grade, we may not have been friends.

    You know what is a great teen book though, “Perks of Being a Wallflower”. That’s awesome and you should totally read it!

Leave a Reply

