Jamie’s Food Revolution


This is really quick, but I have to say it (and sorry for all my many devoted readers, this will replace the London pics for today…).

Jamie Oliver's Food Revolution

Jamie Oliver's Food Revolution

I just watched Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution, and I really loved it. For anyone who’s ever talked to me about food, they know I love Jamie Oliver (a.k.a. The Naked Chef). I own most of his cookbooks (slowly collecting them as I can find them cheaply), and in my self-eduction regarding cooking (with generous help from my mom!), Jamie’s the one I turn to for ideas and tips.

In this show, which just premiered on Sunday and begins officially on Friday, March 26 at 8pm, Jamie goes to Huntington, WV (rated officially as the unhealthiest city in America) to try and start a grassroots food revolution, helping people learn to eat better. He’s working with individual families, opening a kitchen to teach cooking classes. However, as the premier demonstrated, his biggest battleground is the school cafeterias.

He met with great opposition in the lunch rooms, as the cooks did as they were told and resented his presence there–not because they did not care, but because they seemed to feel as though they were stuck between a rock and a hard place. Many people were vocal in their resistance to what he was doing, thinking he was bashing the town and the people. On the contrary, it’s always been clear that he’s passionate and honest about what he’s doing–helping people live healthier through the food they eat.

He did it in England, and continues to push toward food reform in the schools, moving away from processed foods and to natural, healthily prepared meals. He says he still has a long way to go there, but the spark is catching.

I respect the man who tries to chance something that’s wrong. He really saw the bureaucratic red tape he needs to break through to get to his goal, but he’s up for a fight.

He’s a father, and he wouldn’t feed his kids what they serve at the schools in the UK, so he did his best to make a change. But, he thought, why should other kids eat what I wouldn’t let my kids eat?

Anyway, I could go on and on about this, but I think it’s a big think he’s trying to do, and I’d like to think he can make a change. Who knows…

JFR

2 thoughts on “Jamie’s Food Revolution

  1. On behalf of your devoted readers, it’s okay. We are still trying to catch up on your London adventures so to depart momentarily from them is completely allowed.

    Although I haven’t read this entry yet (is it wrong that I need to read your posts in chronological order?) my friend in class tonight brought up this very subject!

    So I can’t wait to read as you and her are both very excited about this!

    BD

  2. Okay, so I am caught up on your blog to this entry. Just read it and I have to say that I believe Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution may reach a tipping point soon as it is everywhere I turn. I certainly hope that he does make a difference in food consumption in the US because it is so easy to eat poorly, but not as easy to eat well.

    That being said, I have found memories of my cafeteria days. The square pizzas and the brilliant combination of PBJ with Chili.

    I could say more but my break is almost over:-(

    BD

Leave a Reply

