Film Review: Alice in Wonderland


I don’t care what people say, I loved Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. Honestly, I have a hard time disliking a Tim Burton film, but this one really did it for me.

Maybe it’s because they depicted one of my favorite poems ever, “Jabberwocky” which is featured in Through the Looking-Glass, the sequel to Lewis Carroll’s novel Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

One way or another, it’s a visual feast. It’s whimsical, with a touch of intrigue, as well as a taste of wonder (yes, I went there!).

Whether Burton wants to admit it or not, this movie is a sequel to the original Disney film. It’s not necessarily a sequel to the book (it’s been a long time since I’ve read it, but I’m planning on rereading it soon), but I feel like it really continues  from where the movie leaves off.

Alice (Mia Wasikowska) has grown up, and her previous foray into Wonderland seems like a dream that she can barely remember. She is discontent with her life, with the conventions of society she must adhere to because of her gender and her place in the world. She longs to follow her father’s example, to see the world and become something other than a subservient wife to a stodgy, soporific man.

Her new venture into Wonderland comes after a significant event, where Alice must make a choice that will change her life. By following the White Rabbit, Alice finds herself back in Wonderland where she will find the strength to become what she must, outwitting the Red Queen (Helena Bonham Carter), aiding the White Queen (Anne Hathaway), with help from the Cheshire Cat (Stephen Fry) and the Mad Hatter (Johnny Depp–a quick thought on Johnny Depp. I love him because you don’t detect a trace of Depp in his roles. He really is a chameleon!).

This movie really is good for the metaphor that it presents, because it’s similar to other movies and literature of the genre, such asThe Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, which teaches children who have been forced to flee from circumstances beyond their control to find strength to deal with those circumstances.

Overall, Alice in Wonderland was a very enjoyable, visually arresting film. See it in 3-D–it’s absolutely worth it!

6 thoughts on “Film Review: Alice in Wonderland

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed the film so much, however I have to respectfully disagree about Mr. Johnny Depp.

    A chameleon?

    At this point in his career, I feel like Johnny Depp just gives derivative performances of Jack Sparrow.

    Am I wrong?

    BD

    • Yes. You are wrong.
      I’m just gonna throw out some characters:
      Edward Scissorhands–In no way Captain Jack (I didn’t even know it was Johnny Depp for a long time)
      Willy Wonka–Just a creepy, creepy candyman.
      Sweeney Todd–More eScissor than Captain Jack.
      George Jung from Blow–Just your average cokehead.

      I could keep going, but I’m just gonna say this:

      Lawyered.

      • Objection!

        I stated that at this point in his career, Johnny Depp is giving derivative performances of Jack Sparrow so anything that comes before doesn’t really fall into that category.

        Edward Scissorhands and What’s Eating Gilbert Grape are fantastic performances from early in his career. Benny and June is another fantastic film.

        I’m just saying that I’m seeing a lot of Jack Sparrow in his performances these days. And by that he always seems to play a bit of an emo fop.

        Lawyered!

        BD

  2. Pingback: How To Train Your Dragon « Elementary, My Dear Reader

  3. Pingback: 2011 Oscar Nominations – My Predictions « Elementary, My Dear Reader

Leave a Reply

