Count of Monte Cristo


Count of Monte Cristo Cover

I’ve just started reading The Count of Monte Cristo, which is a great piece of literature! However, I’m reading the unabridged version (1276 pages!). I’m going to tweet a bit while I read it, so they should show up on the main page, and I’ll probably post a bit, but not incredibly often related to this read (we’ll see though, there’s a lot to ponder…)

First of all, what I remember is that this book is a tragedy. It’s the story of a man’s journey through darkness and into revenge and finally redemption.

And now, farewell to kindness, humanity and gratitude. I have substituted myself for Providence in rewarding the good; may the God of vengeance now yield me His place to punish the wicked…

I maintain my pride in the face of men, but I abandon it before God, who drew me out of nothingness to make me what I am.

It’s been too long since the last time I read it, and I’m on Chapter 7 right now, remembering details as they come. I just hope all of my knowledge isn’t on the 2002 movie starring ‘Jesus‘ and the guy from Memento.

One thought on “Count of Monte Cristo

Leave a Reply

