How To Train Your Dragon


I just got out of How to Train Your Dragon, which opened this weekend. It’s got the highest rating on Rotten Tomatoes that I’ve seen for awhile. I’m not always in agreement with the critics there–my review of Alice in Wonderland speaks to that.

That being said, I loved it.

I remember early trailers for it, and I had no idea what to expect. It’s got really great CGI, a warm, touching, unique story (starring a young Viking named Hiccup who just wants to kill a dragon, and who must come to terms with that choice), and a really good time. How many movies do you see with Vikings, let alone Vikings and dragons. Add together Vikings, dragons, and great comedy done in Scottish accents, and you get a whirlwind of a fun time.

I hadn’t planned on seeing it as, until now, with the exception of Shrek, Dreamworks has been like the slow younger brother of the animation community. They seem to have a future now. They may be able to compete!

Seriously, see it. When you do, you need to see it in 3-D. Forget that junk you saw in the 80s and 90s. This isn’t pieces of randomness flying toward the camera, completely ruining the movie-going experience (unless, I suppose, you’re under some substance’s influence…). This is art. This is truly 3-D, with impressing depth. I couldn’t believe the intricacy of the detail–when you see it, look at Stoick‘s beard and coat.

Great movie.

P.S. While doing research for this post, I discovered that How to Train Your Dragon is the first in a series of children’s novels written by Cressida Cowell. I’m going to read it!

Here’s a trailer for How to Train Your Dragon:

3 thoughts on “How To Train Your Dragon

  1. I will probably give the book a whirl. Making America Ferrera a skinny skinny blond viking still doesn’t sit well with me, but your review was enough to make me want to read the book.

    Admittedly, I never really been a fan of Dreamworks. I didn’t really care for Shrek:-/

    BD

  2. Pingback: 2011 Oscar Nominations – My Predictions « Elementary, My Dear Reader

Leave a Reply

