Film Review: Star Wars, Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)


I just remember watching a VHS tape of the movie that my dad recorded and seeing the iconic image of the AT-AT Walkers menacingly meandering toward the entrenched Rebel forces on Hoth. I was hooked from there. I watched these movies over and over again, nearly wearing out the tape.

and the speeder chase that led to Luke tripping the walkers with the wire. And all that just leads up to the excellent character of Yoda, the zen/boot camp-like training regimen with Luke on Dagobah,

which brings us to the unforgettable city in the clouds of Bespin and Lando Calrissian, the wiley, conniving, self-centered good guy and “friend” of Han Solo.

Han is frozen in carbonite, C-3PO is disassembled,

Luke loses his cool and his hand when Darth Vader brings up a whole lot of daddy issues, and we leave our heroes to fend for themselves during the intermediate time period. Poor guys.

This is a darker installment than Episode IV; we learn more about The Force, Han and Leia’s relationship begins to burgeon, and the universe into which we were introduced in the original installment gets bigger and more exciting. Moreover, it ends with an exciting revelation and a desperate situation, a clear lead-in to a sequel.

Any other favorite memories of Star Wars?

See my reviews of Episodes I, II, III, IV, & VI

5 thoughts on “Film Review: Star Wars, Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

  1. Pingback: Star Wars, Episode VI: Return of the Jedi « Elementary, My Dear Reader

  2. I totally watched this on VHS too!

    I also had a book/tape combo that I would read along with for hours night after night that actually had dialogue from the film with the actor’s voices.

    I loved Yoda and had a cut out mask that I would wear…often.

    Lando Clarissian is a J-E-R-K!!!

    Um…the absolute best bad ass line ever:

    Leia: I love you.
    Hans: I know.

    Done!

    Lawyered!

    Falconed!

    BD

  3. …and that is the GENIUS that is Harrison Ford (minus the terrible idea that Extraordinary Measures was…). He decided to ad lib and come up with something less cliche than “I love you too.”

    Totally Falconed!

  4. Pingback: The Americans: Get Used to It » Basket of Kisses

Leave a Reply

