Voyage of the Dawn Treader


This is another that I can. not. wait for! I hope they don’t screw it up too bad.

One of the things I’ve had to do with many book adaptations, like Harry Potter–and I was prepared to do this for Percy Jackson, but you can read about that here–is to resort to thinking about them as merely “inspired by” the books from which they were adapted. I have enjoyed the first two adaptations of C.S. Lewis’ masterpiece 7-part epic series The Chronicles of Narnia, although too many liberties were taken with¬†Prince Caspian, I think, even though I enjoyed the movie itself (much like Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, though I liked the movie itself, if was hardly an adaptation of the book).

Anyway, this looks like, for the most part, that they’ve decided to actually follow the plot of the book. I hope this remains the case. I absolutely love The Chronicles of Narnia, and have read them over and over again since I could read. There was the good, though woefully underbudget and under-special-effected, BBC adaptation of the series (minus the first and last books), and I hope that this lives up to some of my expectations…

3 thoughts on “Voyage of the Dawn Treader

  1. I am really hoping they don’t screw this up! The old BBC ones were certainly low budget, but I still like that rendition of Prince Caspian. Maybe this franchise can make a comeback with this film If nothing else, it should really benefit from the special effects. The little that we’re shown in the previews looks very promising.

  2. I have no expectations for this film as I have never read The Chronicles of Narnia. I have no good reason for that other than the books have never really interested me that much. The preview does look good and I have heard rave reviews from others who have enjoyed the first two films. The only “Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe” adaptation I have enjoyed was the animated film from 1979.

    Please to enjoy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ip067haCiS0

    That being said, I do hope that the film lives up to both of your expectations:-)

    BD

  3. I actually used to have the original animated film on VHS. I grew up watching that all the time, as well as the BBC Live-action adaptation.
    I hope they do well with this.

Leave a Reply

