Movies About Which I’m Pretty Dang Excited


I had a busier day today than I expected, but here are a bunch of films I can’t wait to see…

The Last Airbender–unfortunately, this is being dashed by the critics, but I still want to see it–maybe just in the cheapo theater.

Despicable MeThis looks just plain fun!

A trio of orphan girls cause the normally deplorable Gru to rethink his plan to steal the moon.

Predators–I really enjoyed the first two installments, though the Alien vs. Predator films not so much. I hope this is a bit of remake and a bit of expansion on the original premise. Although, as much as he tries, Adrian Brody is no Ahnohld.

Inception–Because I trust Christopher Nolan. ‘Nuff said.

Salt–I’m not against Angelina Jolie, as long as she isn’t Grendel’s mother. I especially like her when she’s in spy mode.

As a CIA officer, Evelyn Salt swore an oath to duty, honor and country. Her loyalty will be tested when a defector accuses her of being a Russian spy. Salt goes on the run, using all her skills and years of experience as a covert operative to elude capture. Salt’s efforts to prove her innocence only serve to cast doubt on her motives, as the hunt to uncover the truth behind her identity continues and the question remains: “Who is Salt?”

Ramona and Beezus–Yes, I’m looking forward to this. I may not see it in the theater, or maybe just the dollar theater. I just know that I grew up on these books, and I read them over and over again. It’s about time we got one of these, and with a decent-looking cast. Besides, how long has it been since a movie was Rated ‘G’?

The Other Guys–A decently funny looking buddy cop spoof. I’m all for it. Again, maybe just a dollar theater flick, but I’ll certainly see it.

Two mismatched New York City detectives seize an opportunity to step up like the city’s top cops whom they idolize — only things don’t quite go as planned

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World–I cannot wait for this. I’ve read the first graphic novel (waiting on the other one…) and the film adaptation looks better than the first. It looks just slightly different for Michael Cera (who’s just played derivations on George Michael for years).

Layabout musician Scott Pilgrim (Cera) falls for the new girl in town, Ramona Flowers (Winstead), but in order to win her heart, he must defeat her seven evil ex-boyfriends.

The ExpendablesThis I’ll probably see with my dad. I’m a sucker for a meathead action film, and this looks just plain fun. Also, it has just about every action hero from the 80s and 90s.

A team of mercenaries head to South America on a mission to overthrow a dictator.

…and that’s not all, but these are on the horizon for now! What do you think?

One thought on “Movies About Which I’m Pretty Dang Excited

  1. My computer is being slow so I haven’t been able to watch any of the previews you posted, but I still can share my feelings on the summer.

    I feel like it was kind of a lackluster summer.

    I would argue the main events were Iron Man 2 (amazing!), Toy Story 3 (masterful!), and Inception (pure dead brilliant!)!

    Airbender was a flawed work that is better than most people have judged it to be. A solid C-.

    I feel like I only have Harry Potter 7 Part 1 to look forward too, unless something surprises me. Miyazaki’s son has loosely adapted the first three or four books of Ursala le Guin “Earthsea” series which looks to be vaguely interesting.

    Other than that, I am kind of apathetic towards the rest of this year’s movies.

    Oh, and Tron legacy. I mean that is either going to be AWESOME or it isn’t:-(

    BD

Leave a Reply

