Doctor Who series 5.13, “The Big Bang” by Steven Moffat


**Warning! Here there be spoilers! For crying out loud! DO NOT read ahead if you have not watched through Series 5, episode 13 of Doctor Who. If you have, or don’t care, read on, but don’t get mad…**

When we last left our Doctor and his ginger companion (and River Song…), the TARDIS had exploded, apparently along with River, Amy had been shot by Plastic-Roman-Rory, and the Doctor had been locked in the Pandorica (Pandora’s Box) by all those who hate him, all those he had defeated—we’re at a rather bleak juncture.

Let’s just say that I had to hold my jaw shut throughout this episode. I alternated between rocking back and forth, sitting on the edge of my seat (really, on the very edge), and twitching a lot.

And I loved every minute of it!

My mind is rather blown.

Blown away gone.

This finale began as the first had, with young Amy, who is pretty much amazing. We get to see young and older Amy together for the first time. I was struck by the brilliant casting regarding young Amy. They look so very much alike! There were a few times where I did a double take, making sure which Amy I saw. I’ve since discovered that Caitlin Blackwood (young Amy) is Karen Gillan’s cousin—good choice!

Just before the opening credits, after establishing that young Amy’s world is slightly different from our own (there are no stars!), Amy gets a strange note, leading her to the National Museum, where there is a large box on exhibition. She sees a post-it note (which says, “Stick Around, Pond”) and hides in the museum until closing. She then touches the Pandorica, opening it, to find…

Amy in the Pandorica! I was so surprised by this, and it was a great way to pat us all on the heads and say, “Hey, guys. You can’t predict any of this. Don’t even try. It’ll all make sense in the end–kind of–but just sit down and enjoy the ride.” Excellent.

There is a lot of flashing back and forth in time, setting everything up to seal the cracks in the fabric in time. This involves controlling the exploding TARDIS, which the Doctor accomplishes by plying the Pandorica into the TARDIS explosion (which has been heating the earth, seeing as there are no stars, including the sun!).

After the Doctor flies the Pandorica into the heart of the exploding TARDIS in order to seal the cracks in time, he begins to move backward, and he hopes to make Amy remember him—as her memory is the key to restoring the universe to its proper place. He carries young Amy and tucks her into bed and tells her about when he got the TARDIS, “The daft old man who stole a magic box [he always meant to give it back]. You’ll dream about that box. It will never leave you. Brand new and ancient at the same time. And the bluest blue ever.” Rory reminds her of the old wedding adage, “Something old, something new, something borrowed, and something blue.” The Doctor’s speech to Amy is the memory trigger, so she can remember him back into existence.

Things I loved:

Fossilized Daleks: completely unexpected, and just a slight twist on a well-worn foe.

Rory as the stalwart centurion. It was incredibly moving that he remained by Amy’s side for nearly 2,000 years. It’s an excellent depiction of his devotion to her. If it’s possible, I love his character even more.

I don’t utterly hate River Song anymore, but I think there’s no way she could ever remain with the Doctor. I just don’t trust her. I’ll concede that she was key in the way that some things turned out, but I think she’s a lying liar. She may love him, but that doesn’t mean she can be trusted. (BD pointed out to me that she’s Catwoman to the Doctor’s Batman) I’d also like to point out that the Vortex Manipulator that she got from a handsome time agent was quite obviously Captain Jack. I’m crossing my fingers that he’ll be there next season…

This isn’t the first time I’ve said this, but I absolutely love nonchronological storytelling. This was a dream for me! It was really tightly woven, infinitely complex, well executed, and it kept me guessing throughout. The first time that the Doctor dropped something off for young Amy, I thought, “Did I just see a guy in a fez at her door?” Yes, yes I did.

Wow. Well done! Matt Smith has delivered this season. While David Tennant will always be my Doctor, Matt Smith is nothing to sneeze at. He made the Doctor his own, and I think he’s going to remain one of the best in the role.

Favorite Quotes:

You know this is all just a story, don’t you? You know there’s no such thing as stars?

Rory: I could do with a ridiculous miracle about now. [The Doctor appears wearing a fez and holding a mop]

Last thoughts:

We’re going to have a married couple on the TARDIS, and I think everything’s going to just get crazier in the next series. I look forward to the Christmas special!

Just remember, Silence has not yet fallen.

Previous episode: “The Pandorica Opens

Next episode: “A Christmas Carol

3 thoughts on “Doctor Who series 5.13, “The Big Bang” by Steven Moffat

  1. You already know how I feel about this particular episode so I shan’t rehash it here.

    Suffice to say that I am looking forward to re-watching this season on DVD with uninterrupted episodes and time to maybe cool my hatred of Amy Pond.

    But probably not.

    Because she is still a whore.

    That is maybe not entirely fair.

    She has whore potential.

    That is all.

    BD

  2. Pingback: Doctor Who Series 5.12 “The Pandorica Opens” by Stephen Moffat « Elementary, My Dear Reader

  3. Pingback: Doctor Who, series 6.13: “The Wedding of River Song” by Steven Moffat « Elementary, My Dear Reader

Leave a Reply

