Rubicon on AMC


I just stumbled on Rubicon (the 3rd show from AMC) after I saw an ad (very similar to the poster above) on IMDb that caught my eye. I love shows with deep mythologies, most of which necessitate a conspiracy of some kind (The X-Files, Alias, Fringe, LOST–I feel like there’s a pattern among some of these…I just can’t figure out what it is). I happened to come across it on its opening night, just an hour before it started, so I took a look. I was impressed and intrigued.

The opening scene hooked me with its cryptic intensity, unfolding a mystery immediately, followed closely by a mysterious death. James Badge Dale (CTU agent Chase Edmunds from 24, and more recently HBO’s The Pacific–which I still haven’t seen, but if it’s anything like the amazing Band of Brothers, it’ll be well worth it) plays Will Travers, a genius who works for a well-connected clandestine government think tank. He apparently stumbles upon a pattern which lies hidden in codes which lie in plain site. These lead to the death of someone close, as well as link many significant world events, hinting at a shadow government, or at least a secret cabal of some sort. The point is that something’s rotten in the government, and he may be more involved than he knows.

This is not a fast-paced show, and it relies on intelligence–surprise! It’s well-written and solidly acted by a quirky supporting cast. Its tone, reinforced by the score and settings, seem reminiscent of old conspiracy films and novels like All the President’s Men or The Matarese novels by Robert Ludlum. I’ll keep watching to see where it goes, something about it has me fully invested, though. I want to see where this goes.

See the first episodes at AMC’s website.

2 thoughts on “Rubicon on AMC

  1. I actually had set this to record because I was interested to see if it was any good. Also, I was happy to see the guy from Glee get some work!

    Unfortunately, I have to disagree with you a bit Tyler. It did not really grab me at all. To say that the show is not a fast-paced show is an understatement;-) However, that is necessarily what bothers me. The plot seemed quite dense and opaque, which I am down for some mythology, but I didn’t feel like there was anything to latch onto in the first episode. Also, all the characters and the scenes were very dark, gloomy, grey, and somewhat lethargic. I needed some warmth from either the scenery or the characters or the plot, but everything just felt very cold.

    The show is definitely not going to be for everyone and it isn’t really my cup of tea. I hope that you enjoy it and look forward to reading about the show’s plot via your blog.

    BD

  2. I absolutely understand what you’re saying. I’m honestly not sure what it is about the show that has me intrigued. I love deep, embroiled conspiracies, a lot like a Clancy or Ludlum novel. I guess I’m rather OK with the atmosphere and the pace, in this case, because I feel like it’ll pay off.

    We shall see!

Leave a Reply

