Songs Which Were Suprising to Hear In A Sports Bar


I’ve recently spent some time in a sports bar near my house (it’s a national chain, but I won’t reveal its identity to protect…the innocent…or something like that).

For the most part, they play 90’s music and early 00’s music on satellite radio. There’s some Dave Matthews Band (always excellent) and a lot of Nickelback and other such regulars. However, there are a few songs which crop up that were surprising to hear in a modern sports bar.

My criteria for this list mainly comes down to this question: Would these songs be appropriate during a UFC match?

These are the Top 10, but I may adjust this list in future posts as I see fit.

10. “Man, I Feel Like a Woman” by Shania Twain

This would be acceptable in Texas Roadhouse, or another such restaurant/bar. But definitely not in your average dive.

9. “Amish Paradise” by Weird Al Yankovic

Now, I supposed that “Gangsta’s Paradise” by Coolio would be slightly more OK in such a situation, but Weird Al? Really? In a sports bar? I did a double take when I heard this.

8. “Pretty Fly For a White Guy” by The Offspring

About half of this song is listenable, and then we get to the “Give it to me” part. I don’t think that it distracts from the atmosphere of a restaurant at all. In fact, when sports are on and sweaty men are beating each other to a pulp, that’s exactly what I want to hear.

7. “I’m Too Sexy” by Right Said Fred

Much of what I said about “Pretty Fly” is applicable to this entry; however, maybe this works when listeners are really drunk and want to follow along…

6. “Genie in a Bottle” by Christina Aguilera

I’m not a Christina hater, but this is another that doesn’t really feel in place during a UFC fight.

5. “Africa” by Toto

While I admit that I have this song on my iPod, more than anything else, it was a shocker to hear this being played alongside “Back in Black” by AC/DC, the juxtaposition of those two songs, let alone people drinking and watching sports was rather interesting.

4. “The Macarena” by Los Del Rio

This is one of those songs which is generally dusted off for proms or awkward high school reunions. This barely belongs there, and certainly not in any other public place.

3. “Baby Baby” by Amy Grant

This was one of the songs of the 90’s for me. Not necessarily because I loved it, but mainly because it seemed to be everywhere. Once again, it should remain there. Not hated, but safely ensconced in our fond memories of the 90s.

2. “Wannabe” by The Spice Girls

This should have stopped way before it got huge. It didn’t. And for some reason people are still playing it. That’s not OK, and definitely not in the middle of a bloody fight.

1. “Ice, Ice Baby” by Vanilla Ice

Never acceptable.

‘Nuff said.

2 thoughts on “Songs Which Were Suprising to Hear In A Sports Bar

Leave a Reply

