A Few Films Which Look Interestingly Interesting…


Each of these look interesting, but I can’t decide how they’ll turn out. They could go either way…

127 Hours

This is the long-time coming (partial) biopic of Aron Ralston, an adventurer and mountain climber who was forced to amputate his own arm after being trapped by a boulder. Because of the assuredly brilliant direction of Danny Boyle, and superb acting by James Franco (who I’ve loved in everything he’s done), this should be great. At the same time, I have to wonder how this will translate into a compelling, complex film. It may be Oscar-bait for Franco, but I don’t know if it’ll be completely successful.

Black Swan

Starring Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis, this tells a somewhat Kafkaesque tale of two ballerinas who compete for lead roles in Swan Lake. It will explore the stress and psychology of being a ballerina. OK, it looks cooler than that. Using the duality of Swan Lake (the pure white swan and the erotic black swan), the competition for the parts becomes closely internalized, to the point that an actual, physical transformation seems to take place.

I’m really excited about this, but I’ll bet it doesn’t get wide distribution, so I’ll have to wait for the DVD release. It’s got that psychological thriller aspect to it that I think will work to great effect.

The American

I love George Clooney. I love espionage thrillers. This should be excellent, and another introspective film for Clooney (following Up in the Air). I need to get the novel on which this is based, A Very Private Gentleman by Martin Booth. It seems like The Day of the Jackal meets the later Bourne novels. I’m very interested.

Leave a Reply

