Tom Clancy’s Newest


I know that Dead or Alive doesn’t come out until December 7th, but I’ve been talking about it with a friend so I thought I’d comment a bit. Tom Clancy is one of my favorite authors. He’s one of the first “adult” authors I read. I remember picking up Patriot Games in 7th grade and eating through it. I couldn’t get enough. Now, I know I wouldn’t have completely comprehended it at that age, but I was hooked and I’ve re-read Clancy’s novels over and over.

That being said, I won’t read the Op-Center or Net Force books, as they’re not actually written by Tom Clancy. He’s really steered clear of perverting his Ryanverse novels with other authors–until now. While this article completely ignores it, Clancy is writing with Grant Blackwood. No offense to Mr. Blackwood, as I’ve never heard of him before, but I am now extremely wary of a new writer entering the Ryanverse.

Mr. Clancy is not the first author who has done this. I love Clive Cussler, but only his Dirk Pitt series (who he writes alone, except for the final few installments, which he wrote with his son, Dirk Cussler. When he writes with other authors, I feel like he’s not at his best (or they’re bringing him down). This is the same as when James Patterson writes with other authors. So far (as far as I can tell) his only series which has survived untainted is his Alex Cross series. I’ve enjoyed that series, though I’m not completely caught up. I liked his Women’s Murder Club books until he began to write with Maxine Petro. They went downhill. Patterson has perfected the art of self-marketing. His name is always the largest on the cover, despite subpar turnout. He cannot have as much involvement when he cranks out at least 1 book per month.

To that end, I hope this does not happen to Tom Clancy. It’s been about 7 years since his last book, The Teeth of the Tiger, came out, and I hope it’s worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

