Excerpts on my mind, or, If it’s good enough for T.S., it’s good enough for me!


I will show you fear in a handful of dust.

I see crowds of people, walking round in a ring….
Unreal City,
Under the brown fog of a winter dawn,
A crowd flowed over London Bridge, so many,
I had not thought death had undone so many.
Sighs, short and infrequent, were exhaled,
And each man fixed his eyes before his feet….

I think we are in rats’ alley
Where the dead men lost their bones.”What is that noise?”
The wind under the door.
“What is that noise now? What is the wind doing?”
Nothing again nothing.
“Do
“You know nothing? Do you see nothing? Do you remember
“Nothing?”

I remember
Those are pearls that were his eyes.
“Are you alive, or not? Is there nothing in your head?”
But

O O O O that Shakespearean Rag—
It’s so elegant
So intelligent
“What shall I do now? What shall I do?”
“I shall rush out as I am, and walk the street
“With my hair down, so. What shall we do to-morrow?
“What shall we ever do?”
….
HURRY UP PLEASE ITS TIME
….

By the waters of Leman I sat down and wept. . .

To Carthage then I cameBurning burning burning burning
O Lord Thou pluckest me out
O Lord Thou pluckest

burning
….

…there is no water

Who is the third who walks always beside you?
When I count, there are only you and I together
But when I look ahead up the white road
There is always another one walking beside you
Gliding wrapt in a brown mantle, hooded
I do not know whether a man or a woman
—But who is that on the other side of you?

….

I sat upon the shore
Fishing, with the arid plain behind me
Shall I at least set my lands in order?…
These fragments I have shored against my ruins…

These are just some of the passages from “The Waste Land” that I like, strung together without the other bits of bilge connecting them. According to Eliot (and certainly most of his contemporaries) any way I want it, that’s the way I need it, so I like it like this!

Odd, I know, but I’ve had to read a bunch of World War I poetry and then Virginia Woolf and T.S. Eliot.

It got me into a funk.

Leave a Reply

