And the Printz goes to: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi


The 2011 Michael L. Printz award has been awarded to Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi. I have not read it, though it was already at the top of my to-read list, so a review will follow soon.

Here’s the blurb from the ALA website:

In Ship Breaker, near a drowned New Orleans ravaged by hurricanes and global warming, Nailer and his young crew eke out a meager existence by scavenging materials on the ship-littered coast.

“This taut, suspenseful novel is a relentless adventure story featuring nuanced characters in thought-provoking conflicts. Bacigalupi artfully intertwines themes of loyalty, family, friendship, trust and love,” said Printz Award Committee Chair Erin Downey Howerton.

I’ve read a few Printz award winners, and some of the honor books. Last year’s winner Going Bovine by Libba Bray is one of the best books I’ve read in awhile, and e. lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks was a Printz honor book, and I absolutely loved it.

3 thoughts on “And the Printz goes to: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

  1. I read this as an ARC and it was good. I couldn’t get into it and I can’t put my finger on why, but a great story that’s an easy sell in the dystopian genre. You will enjoy it.

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks « Brew City Book Lovers

  3. Pingback: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi « Elementary, My Dear Reader

Leave a Reply

