Brian Jacques (15 June 1939-5 February 2011)


Brian Jacques, the author of the Redwall novels, has passed away this week. I have only read two of his numerous works, Redwall and A Great Redwall Feast, but I greatly enjoyed them.

His Redwall books are reminiscent of T.H. White in Disney format (with anthropomorphic characters), yet not “dumbed down” for the younger readers. He retains a high style of speak, vernacular, and a very British sensibility.

I can’t personally recommend further than Redwall or the small picture book (all in verse) A Great Redwall Feast, but they are loved by many. They’re clean, filled with adventure and lovable characters. If I had known about these books when I was a kid, I’m sure I would have devoured the entire series many times over.

I would give him more of a eulogy, but I only know so much about him. My highest praise is that he is a natural-born storyteller, and he has entertained many, and will continue to do so.

4 thoughts on “Brian Jacques (15 June 1939-5 February 2011)

  1. Pingback: Some of my recent reads, Part II; or, Adam Rex & Co. « Elementary, My Dear Reader

Leave a Reply

