Our society’s preoccupation with… (or, Vampires, Zombies, and Wizards, oh my!)


Starting next week, I’ll begin a series regarding our society’s preoccupation with certain trends in pop culture and weigh in on what our reaction and interpretation of those trends should be. We’re inundated with certain media gold mines on a regular basis, and people go absolutely berserk over them. I will go nuts over some things, but not to the extent that I see regularly when Robert Pattinson or Justin Bieber make an appearance. Aside from the actors themselves, who I won’t address in these posts, what does the craze over films such as The Twilight Saga or Harry Potter (or the many others I’ll talk about in upcoming posts) say about us? What’s a decent interpretation of these trends?

As I’ve indicated, I want to address vampires (generally the Twilight saga, but I’ll include some other things as well), zombies, dystopic and post-apocalyptic stories, and sorcery (more specifically the Harry Potter variety). I may get some more ideas, and if you have any, please suggest some in the comments.

This isn’t a surprise to those of you who have read my blog in the past, or to those who know any English majors or pop culture analysts, but there are multiple aspects to each of these trends. I’ll address a few of them:

1. The craze itself–why are people going so nuts over these films or books?

2. The metaphorical nature of these films or books–what’s going on beneath the surface?

3. The well-tempered reaction–how should we respond to these things?

4 thoughts on “Our society’s preoccupation with… (or, Vampires, Zombies, and Wizards, oh my!)

  1. Pingback: Our society’s preoccupation with Zombies in books and movies | Elementary, My Dear Reader

Leave a Reply

